On May 31, 2010, 37,248 people committed to quit Facebook due to their lax views on privacy and data sharing. One Facebook user hopped on the bandwagon early and started a Facebook Group entitled “How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account” in 2007. If the Facebook account you created is causing you trouble, or if you just no longer want to have anything to do with the social networking site, here is how you can permanently delete your Facebook account:
Deactivate Your Account
Go to http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account, click submit and follow the instructions given. You will be asked to give your password and complete a CAPTCHA so Facebook can make sure the account being deleted is being deleted by a person and not a bot.
Don’t Interact With Facebook at All
Once you have deactivated your account, a message will pop up stating, “Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.” For those who want to be sure that their account is deleted properly, the way to do this is to avoid all contact with everything Facebook for a 2-week consecutive period. This means that you cannot “like” things on other websites, you cannot visit a Facebook page, and you cannot under any circumstances log in to your account to see if it’s gone.
Complete the Separation
Much like a bad relationship with a crazy ex who keeps all your photos and information, Facebook will attempt to get you to come back to them as though you are their one and only user. If you truly want to end the relationship, you will have to cut Facebook clean out of your life. If you give the social networking site one idea of a hint that you want to interact with it, then your account will be reactivated and you will have to complete the process all over again.